{Unplugging} and Weekend in Review

I can actually say this was probably the first weekend that I’ve thoroughly enjoyed myself here in South Florida, and it has me smiling from ear to ear on this sunny Monday afternoon.

It certainly goes without saying that starting two businesses simultaneously is no easy undertaking. While I am extremely grateful for the opportunity I’ve been given to pursue both passions of mine to begin these two companies, it’s by far more work than I ever could have imagined. I spend on average about 18 hours a day building both companies, and I’m fairly certain anyone else who has had the privilege to begin a business (because it is indeed, a privilege) can relate to not being able to fall asleep at night, or often times not wanting to even go to sleep for that matter! Creativity just doesn’t seem to want to rest, but I of course know that you cannot place a value on the benefits of a good night’s rest.

Rest assured, this weekend was much different from our previous weekends here. Given I had not even left the house since last weekend (see previous paragraph) a weekend of some serious unplugging was in order. Being in the house and chained to your office/studio all day long without taking the time to even step outside, you completely forget that you’re even living in such a beautiful climate. Finding this concept of balance is a learning process for me in my all or nothing personality. As I always say, I truly am a work in progress. But then again, aren’t we all?

Regardless, the hubs and I had an incredible weekend together, and we totally enjoyed what Florida has to offer, and embraced the real reasons behind our move. Furthermore, we both forgot we had jobs for a weekend! What’s even better is that my batteries are fully recharged and I’m ready to tackle this brand new week!

Enjoy the photos from a most relaxing weekend in South Florida.

I still have to pinch myself when I look at this view and realize...we live here now!

I still have to pinch myself when I look at this view and realize…we live here now!

The hubs is testing out his photography skills in taking candid action shots. One of his many talents ;-)

The hubs is testing out his photography skills in taking candid action shots. One of his many talents 😉

That moment at the fabric store (conveniently located on the way home from the beach), and you look down and see remnants of an awesome walk on the beach.

That moment at the fabric store (conveniently located on the way home from the beach), when you look down and see remnants of an awesome walk on the beach.

Good Sunday Morning to ya! Yeah, we're not doing any work today either.

Good Sunday Morning to ya! Yeah, we’re not doing any work today either.

Blue Heron at the Green Cay Wetlands.

Blue Heron at the Green Cay Wetlands.

His smile lights up my life. Seeing him so happy as we were exploring the nature preserve was the best part of my weekend.

His smile lights up my life. Seeing him so happy as we were exploring the nature preserve was the best part of my weekend.

Leave a Reply

